Royal Medal

View a list of Honours

Three Royal Medals, known also as The Queen's Medals, are awarded annually by the British Monarch on the recommendation of the Council of the Royal Society of London, two for the most important contributions to the advancement of Natural Knowledge (one to each of the two great divisions) and the other for distinguished contributions in interdisciplinary or applied sciences.

Awarded by British Monarch


The following people are associated with this Honour:

Sir Derek Barton
A Nobel prize winning chemist, whose work on the concept of conformation in chemistry was groundbreaking.

Sir Alexander Todd Baron Todd of Trumpington
A Nobel prizewinning chemist, honoured for his research on nucleotides and nucleotide co-enzymes.