Gold Medal for Poetry

View a list of Honours

The Gold Medal for Poetry was established by King George V in 1933 at the suggestion of the then Poet Laureate, John Masefield. Each year’s recipient is from the United Kingdom or a Commonwealth Realm.

Awarded by Queen Elizabeth II


The following person is associated with this Honour:

Edwin Morgan
Widely recognised as one of the foremost Scottish poets of his generation, he was the first Poet Laureate for Glasgow and Scot Makar from 2004-2010.